Norala | Rice Granary of South Cotabato

General Information

Municipal Officials
Mayor: Hon. BALAYON, Victor Y.
Vice-Mayor: Hon. FEDOC, Clemente B.
SB Members:
Hon. PILLA, Lucila L.
Hon. BACLAAN, Sheela Mar D.
Hon. DENONONG, Teodoro G.
Hon. HUQUERIZA, Ramie A.
Hon. VILLAVENDE, Dexter E.
Hon. VILBAR, Ruperto, Sr. C.
Hon. FUENTES, Meriam Grace S.
Hon. BALINDOA, Gilbert C.

General Information
The municipality was christened as the “Norala Settlement District on April 15, 1941. This Settlement was situated in the northern portion of Allah River and the First Batch Settlers used to call as “NORTH ALLAH”, hence, the genesis of the term “NORALA” emerged and it was later adopted officially as the name of the place which the Late President Elpidio Quirino signed Executive Order No. 572 on March 10, 1953 which gave birth to Norala as an independent municipality from Koronadal. Previously, Norala was composed of 20 barangays. 

However, Ex-assembly man Jose T. Sison authored Batas Pambansa No. 90 signed into law by the Late President Ferdinand E. Marcos on December 23, 1980. Batas Pambansa No. 90 gave birth to Barangay Sto. Niño as an independent Municipality from Norala through the ratification by the people in a plebiscite held last April 7, 1982. Barangays of Norala ceded to the Municipality of Sto. Niño was Guinsang-an, San Vicente, Panay, M. Roxas, Katipunan, and San Isidro. Presently, Norala is composed of 14 barangays namely: Poblacion, Lopez Jaena, San Miguel, Esperanza, Lapuz, San Jose, Liberty, Dumaguil, Kibid, Matapol, Puti, Simsiman, Tinago, and B.S. Aquino, Jr. was formerly a part of Barangay Kibid, whose creation was ratified by the people in the plebiscite held last December 27, 1986.